Client Login

February Newsletter

10 Winter Driving Tips From a Seasoned Driver

Being on the road in the winter requires drivers to stay on their toes, says EMC Senior Engineer Jim Stotser. And Jim should know: He travels up to 50,000 miles each year in all types of weather for his job. Follow Jim’s tried-and-true winter driving tips. Click here to read the 10 tips.

Real Life Lessons From Truck Drivers Injured at Work: Blown Away on an Interstate

Those who pull van trailers immediately understand the significance of this topic. Vans have a very large surface area and when the wind blows the driver knows – most of the time. However, that was not the case last February in western Kentucky because the wind came from out of no where and Phil had no idea what was getting ready to happen. If he had, then he would have taken some precautionary action.

Weather patterns vary based upon the location and the season. In some places the weather can be very unpredictable during transitional seasons like late winter and early spring. Such was the case in western Kentucky. Warm air was being blown up from the south in front of an approaching cold front. When the cold front is strong the southern winds will also be strong, and sometimes contain gusts. It was one of these gusts that lifted Phil’s left rear trailer tandems off the road and eventually caused Phil to lose steering control. His reaction resulted in an overturned tractor and trailer, some minor injuries to himself and a blocked Interstate. Click here to continue reading Phil’s story.

Contact Us As Recommended
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Employee Contact List

Joe Webb, President
Direct: 757-774-4814
joewebb@nansemondins.com

Jay Dorschel, Executive Vice President
Direct: 757-774-4812
jdorschel@nansemondins.com

Joby Webb
Direct: 757-774-4810
jobywebb@nansemondins.com

Jarratt Webb
Direct: 757-774-4811
jarrattwebb@nansemondins.com

Michael Nairn
Direct: 757-774-4815
mnairn@nansemondins.com

Jamie Weaver, Office Manager
Direct: 757-774-4801
jweaver@nansemondins.com

Cynthia Goodman, Senior Account Manager
Direct: 757-774-4807
cgoodman@nansemondins.com

Brenda Peace, Senior Account Manager
Direct: 757-774-4809
bpeace@nansemondins.com

Charlotte Scott, Account Manager
Direct: 757-774-4803
cscott@nansemondins.com

Tracey Tuttle, Account Manager
Direct: 757-774-4816
ttuttle@nansemondins.com

Rebecca Gilley, Senior Account Manager
Direct: 757-774-4806
rgilley@nansemondins.com

Brittany McNair, Account Manager
Direct: 757-774-4813
bmcnair@nansemondins.com
We aspire to be a client’s broker of choice by consistently exceeding and building intimate trust.
© 2021 Nansemond Insurance Agency Inc.