Client Login

August Newsletter

Employee (Mis)Classification: What’s Old is Still New

The attached article is courtesy of: Setliff Law, P.C. 4940 Dominion Boulevard Glen Allen, VA 23060; Phone: (804)377-1276; Email: pschurig@setlifflaw.com 

Every time we give a presentation on Workers Compensation, or contracting, or employer liability, or a similar subject, someone comes up to one of us and asks some question about how they have no employees, only independent contractors, and their contract includes terms X and Y, or some contractor got injured while working, etc. Each time these people seem to believe they have come up with an iron-clad way to reduce expenses, avoid the need for insurance (or even foist responsibility for that insurance onto someone else), and avoid liability. They invariably have not. Click here to continue reading.

Tips to Have Successful Roadside Inspections

This article is courtesy of Acuity InsuranceIn my role helping motor carriers with their needs, I often find myself in conversations about struggles with roadside inspections. When I ask how these inspections affect their business operations, things like insurance, customers, brokers, and driver recruitment/retention don’t always make their lists, but they are all impacted. Over my 30-plus years in the industry, I learned roadside inspections and CSA scores are tied together and can affect both drivers and motor carriers in many ways. Although many people think of them negatively, they can be managed in a positive light. Click here for 7 ways to turn roadside inspections into a positive experience.

Contact Us As Recommended
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Employee Contact List

Joe Webb, President
Direct: 757-774-4814
joewebb@nansemondins.com

Jay Dorschel, Executive Vice President
Direct: 757-774-4812
jdorschel@nansemondins.com

Joby Webb
Direct: 757-774-4810
jobywebb@nansemondins.com

Jarratt Webb
Direct: 757-774-4811
jarrattwebb@nansemondins.com

Michael Nairn
Direct: 757-774-4815
mnairn@nansemondins.com

Jamie Weaver, Office Manager
Direct: 757-774-4801
jweaver@nansemondins.com

Cynthia Goodman, Senior Account Manager
Direct: 757-774-4807
cgoodman@nansemondins.com

Brenda Peace, Senior Account Manager
Direct: 757-774-4809
bpeace@nansemondins.com

Charlotte Scott, Account Manager
Direct: 757-774-4803
cscott@nansemondins.com

Tracey Tuttle, Account Manager
Direct: 757-774-4816
ttuttle@nansemondins.com

Rebecca Gilley, Senior Account Manager
Direct: 757-774-4806
rgilley@nansemondins.com

Brittany McNair, Account Manager
Direct: 757-774-4813
bmcnair@nansemondins.com
We aspire to be a client’s broker of choice by consistently exceeding and building intimate trust.
© 2020 Nansemond Insurance Agency Inc.